The St. Landry Parish Government is a governmental subdivision of the State of Louisiana which operates under a Home Rule Charter under authority of Article VI, Section 5 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, and subject to this charter, is authorized to exercise any power and perform any function necessary, or requisite for proper management of its affairs.

The Home Rule Charter is a President-Council form of government. This form of government consists of an elected parish president who serves as the chief executive officer and head of the parish government's executive branch. The thirteen-member, elected council constitutes the legislative branch of the government.